IMF Kutná Hora 2017

Sunday / August 23 /  7:30 p.m. / Church of St. Barbara



Leoš Janáček: String Quartet No. 1, „Kreutzer Sonata“, arranged for Miloš Štědroň´s piano trio (premiere)
Roman Patočka – violin, Terezie Fialová – piano, Jiří Bárta – cello

Felix Mendelssohn: Quintet No. 2 in B flat major, Op. 87 for 2 Violins, 2 Violas and Cello
Roman Patočka, Helena Jiříkovská – violin, Karel Untermüller, Martin Stupka  – viola, Jiří Bárta – cello


Robert Schumann: Piano Quintet E flat major, Op. 44
Helena Jiříkovská, Roman Patočka – violin, Karel Untermüller – viola, Lukáš Polák – cello, Igor Ardašev – piano

Read more

If there is someone who may be trusted to be able to arrange a piece of music of such perfection as Janáček´s String Quartet No. 1 in another format without depriving it of its original spirit, then it is definitely the Brno-based musicologist, composer and Janáček expert, Miloš Štědroň. The genesis of this work is well known: an avowed lover of Russian culture, Janáček drew inspiration for his quartet from Leo Tolstoy´s short story dealing with a case of self-destructive jealousy induced by music. Indeed, the quartet´s individual instruments do clearly evoke human voices, alternately eager and desirous, or tormented by restless agitation.

The sound of the piano quintet is rather unlike that of the trio, as it gets much closer to the sonic world of small orchestra. Not surprisingly, this trait makes it well liked by composers. The German Romantic composer, Robert Schumann, himself an excellent pianist and the husband of the finest woman pianist of the time (to whom the composition is dedicated), endowed the piano part of his quintet with virtuoso brilliance, producing one of the best-loved works of the chamber repertoire. In total consonance with the spirit of its time, this music is quintessentially Romantic, brimming with emotion.

sleeve-note: Dita Hradecká / translation: Ivan Vomáčka