IMF Kutná Hora 2017

Monday / August 24 / 7:30 p.m. / Corpus Christi Chapel



Wojciech Kilar: Orawa for String Quartet
Roman Patočka, Helena Jiříkovská – violin, Martin Stupka – viola, Lukáš Polák – cello

Sofia Gubaidulina: In Croce for Cello and Accordion
Jiří Bárta – cello, Jarmila Vlachová – accordion

Sofia Gubaidulina: Silenzio, Five pieces for Accordion, Violin and Cello
Jarmila Vlachová – accordion, Martina Bačová – violin, Jiří Bárta – cello

Antonín Dvořák: Bagatelle, Op. 47 for Two Violins, Cello and Accordion
Roman Patočka, Helena Jiříkovská – violin, Jiří Bárta – cello, Jarmila Vlachová – accordion

Read more

The title of Silenzio, by the Tatar composer, Sofia Gubaidulina (b. 1931), who has succeeded in earning international renown, prefigures the spiritual keynote of tonight´s programme as a whole. It begins with Orawa, by a Polish composer known chiefly for his film music, Wojciech Kilar (1932-2013), which builds on a single motif layered on continually up to a point when it engenders an appealing theme rooted in folklore. In her turn, Sofia Gubaidulina is most at home in the realm of music that can be characterized as sacred, even though this may not be explicitly present in their titles. Her music sounds more than anything else like meditation. In terms of orchestration, she has a manifest soft spot for the stringed instruments, including most notably cello.

Dvořák´s Bagatelles, a piece in five parts, was written for home concert productions staged by a friend of the composer. Its combination was predetermined by the fact that the friend´s household had no piano, instead of which they had to make do with a harmonium (pump organ). Anyhow, notwithstanding the seeming simplicity of these pieces, they fully attest to Dvořák´s mastery in the treatment of ideas, part writing, and structuring of musical form.

The fact that in tonight´s programme the organ, bayan (a Russian variant of accordion) and harmonium are replaced by the accordion will bring to light the versatility of this instrument.

sleeve-note: Dita Hradecká / translation: Ivan Vomáčka