IMF Kutná Hora 2017

Monday / August 23 / 8:30 p.m. / Church of St. Barbara



Fryderyk Chopin: Sonata for Cello and Piano in G minor, Op. 65

I. Allegro moderato
II. Scherzo. Allegro con brio
III. Largo
IV. Finale. Allegro

Jiří Bárta – cello, Igor Ardašev – piano

Fryderyk Chopin: Concerto for Piano and String Quartet in F minor, Op. 21

I. Maestoso
II. Larghetto
III. Allegro Vivace

Igor Ardašev – piano
Herold Quartet: Petr Zdvihal, Jan Valta – violin, Karel Untermüller – viola, David Havelík – violoncello


Read more

Only  nine compositions of  Fryderyk Chopin (1810-1849), a Romanticist who has been claimed as their own by both France and Poland, are not destined for solo piano Indeed, the piano was to Chopin something very much like his second self, a friend and a mediator in carrying across the composer´s innermost emotions. That said, the Cello Sonata in G minor is one of the prematurely deceased composer and pianist´s late works – actually, it became his last published score. He dedicated it to Auguste Franchomme, a brilliant cellist and a prominent figure of Paris´ cultural life, who influenced the cello performing practice for many generations after his own time. The Sonata in G minor was first performed by the composer and Franchomme  during what was Chopin´s last public concert appearance, in Paris, in February 1848.

            As for his two piano concertos, they are both early works, composed by Chopin in his twenties, and thus still bear the stamp of the ambition harboured by the then still unknown piano soloist who felt obliged to captivate the audience by a blend of virtuosity and emotion. For its part, the version of the work featuring string quartet instead of orchestra, is thoroughly legitimate. Historically, it served interpreters as a “testing ground” for a soloist needing to familiarize themselves with the score prior to a major concert production, by first performing it before a smaller circle of listeners in a salon; or alternatively, it has been performed in public where and whenever no orchestral ensemble was available. Played by this chamber combination, Chopin´s concertos, breathtaking for their sheer brilliance and awesome melodies, assume a new, more intimate dimension.

sleeve-note: Dita Hradecká / translation: Ivan Vomáčka