IMF Kutná Hora 2017

Wednesday / August 26 / 7:30 p.m. / Church of St. Barbara



Dmitri Shostakovich: Sring Quartet in E flat minor, No. 15, Op. 144
Martina Bačová, Helena Jiříkovská – violin, Karel Untermüller – viola, Jiří Bárta – cello


Robert Schumann: Piano Quartet in E flat major, Op. 47

I. Sostenuto assai. Allegro ma non troppo
II. Scherzo. Molto vivace
III. Andante cantabile
IV. Finale. Vivace

 Terezie Fialová – piano, Martina Bačová violin, Karel Untermüller – viola, Lukáš Polák – cello


Read more

The life of Dmitri Shostakovich was marred by the monstrous policies of the Soviet Union´s Stalinist regime. Inevitably, this had to leave its imprint in his music, with its suggestive undertones of tragicomedy, bitter irony and powerlessness. The last of his fifeen string quartets is embued with the spirit of parting, sorrow and resignation. Its six movements (Elegy; Serenade; Intermezzo; Nocturne; Funeral March; and Epilogue) are closely knit. Significantly, the composer pares down the texture here to a mere two voices.

sleeve-note: Dita Hradecká / translation: Ivan Vomáčka