IMF Kutná Hora 2017

12th IMF KH programme – 9th concert

Saturday / June 8 / 7:30 p.m. / Church of. St. Barbara


Mozart / Beethoven / Dvořák



Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Serenade for Winds No. 11 in E flat major, KV 375
  • Allegro maestoso
  • Menuetto
  • Adagio
  • Menuetto
  • Allegro

PhilHarmonia Octet Prague


Ludwig van Beethoven: Violin Quintet in A major Kreutzer
  • Adagio sostenuto – Presto
  • Andante con variazioni
  • Presto

Roman Patočka, Matouš Pěruška – violin, Karel Untermüller – viola, Kristina Vocetková, Jiří Bárta – cello

——— interval ———

Antonín Dvořák: Serenade for Winds, Cello and Double-bass in D minor, Op.44
  • Moderato, quasi marcia
  • Minuetto. Tempo di minuetto
  • Andante con moto
  • Finale. Allegro molto

PhilHarmonia Octet Prague

Read more

Here are three great compositions offered as an homage to chamber music and three of its masters. In the middle of one night in the second half of the 18th century, a group of six wind players disturbed the quiet of a street in sleeping Vienna with the chords of a festive fanfare, intended to please its composer. They were the musicians who had shortly before premiered Mozart´s Serenade No. 11 in E flat major, and now came to thank him for a work which earned them immediately after the first performance a flood of invitations to play it again. The serenade, whose combination Mozart subsequently augmented by two oboes (to correspond with that of the then newly formed royal court octet), became the first true masterpiece of its kind. Listening to it one becomes unmistakeably aware of this being something more than just music for light entertainment and momentary consumption, that it is a deeply thought-out and elaborate composition. Richard Wagner wrote that here Mozart “inspired his instruments with the ardent breath of the human voice.” And indeed, there are more than a few passages here whose parameters emulate the grandeur of operatic scenes.

Beethoven´s Sonata for Violin and Piano in A major “Kreutzer”, whose virtuosity and emotional charge inspired Leo Tolstoy to write his eponymous novella with a tragic ending (passing the message further down, to Janáček and his string quartet of the same name), is presented here in an unusual arrangement for string quartet. Its maker is now unknown; probably produced soon after the composer´s death, it was first published in print in 1832. This approach to works by other composers was not uncommon, original texts were not considered to be untouchable, and consequently we may now be grateful to the anonymous arranger for enriching the repertoire for this combination by an appealing and sophisticated version of the work.

Mozart´s Serenade in B flat major served as an avowed point of reference for Dvořák´s Serenade for Wind Instruments. The Czech master heard Mozart´s composition at a concert of the Vienna Philharmonic in 1878, and set out straight away to write a work for this combination (like Mozart, supplementing the wind with cello and double-bass). Even given the obvious inspiration by Mozart´s Classical composition, on the plane of expression Dvořák remained thoroughly original and quintessentially Czech.

Dita Hradecká / translation: Ivan Vomáčka